New Maryland Law- Proof of Insurance Required

Attention Maryland drivers! There is a new law that will go into force this October that you need to be aware of so that you’re not stuck with¬†avoidable fines or trouble from the police during a traffic stop.

Each year Maryland’s legislature meets for a 90 day session that runs from January through April. The laws that are passed during that session typically go into act the first of October that same year.

This year there is a huge push from the legislature to crack down on uninsured drivers. Now, for the first time, there is a new law in place requiring proof of insurance during a traffic stop, should the officer demand/request it.

Beginning on October 1, 2016, all drivers in Maryland are required to carry valid proof of insurance, and present it during traffic stops, at the request of a law enforcement officer. During an initial introduction period, warnings will be issued to drivers who are unable to present valid proof of insurance. Beginning on July 1, 2017, drivers will be fined $50 for failure to provide valid proof of insurance.

For most of us, we keep our insurance cards inside of our glove compartment where the registration, owners manual, napkins from your favorite restaurant and whatever other random stuff is jammed in there. We’re urging you to double check that you’ve not only got your insurance card in that spot, but that it’s the current/valid insurance card. Most insurance companies re-issue a new insurance card with each renewal period that shows an effective date range (usually 6 months or a year). Every time you get one of these the only thing that normally changes is the effective dates, but it’s important that you pay attention when these come in the mail, or print them if they come to you online!

As always, be safe on the roads. Follow our firm on facebook or bookmark this blog for more future updates on important legal topics!